Can’t get no satisfaction…

I was listening to a mother recount a story about her son – she told me how proud she was when her 9 year old stood up to a shop assistant and said, “Well I am not satisfied! Can you please get me your manager!”

I am not sure if I would be proud of a nine year old standing there with their hands on their hips being somewhat petulant, but the mother was adamant that it was a good trait – “You have to stand up for your rights and it is no good to go home unsatisfied!”

This statement made me start to think – the truth is that it is not only Mick Jagger who “Can’t get no satisfaction” it seems to be a consistent malady which impacts the whole of our society. People seem unsatisfied with much of the content of their lives – they are unsatisfied with their car, their job and their current phone plan. People seem to change careers faster than they change their hairstyles and they often express their dissatisfaction in subtle ways… even the default answer to the question “How are you today?” is revealing… “Not too bad” is the common response…what is this, if not a statement of dissatisfaction?

When you look at your life – how do you feel?

If you had to tick a box which varied between: Extremely Satisfied; Somewhat Satisfied; Satisfied; Somewhat Unsatisfied or Extremely Unsatisfied which would you choose?

The problem is that we tend to base our satisfaction upon things which are going to let us down… Influence and strength; wealth and possessions; sex and pleasure; other people; and our own knowledge… The issue is, that none of these are guaranteed and at some point, all of them are going to fail and we are going to be left unsatisfied.

Hedonism is defined as – the pursuit of the ultimate pleasure or indulgence – After years of searching I have found an interesting and delightful truth – the ultimate hedonism is knowing and living responsively to the Lord.

If I seek Him first – everything else I need or want flows out of that.

“As for me, I will see Your face in righteousness; I shall be satisfied when I awake in Your likeness.”                      Psalms 17:15

When I looked at my face in the mirror this morning I realised that I have not yet arrived at my destination but I am at least on the way – how about you?

Let’s head towards satisfaction together!

Leave a Reply

