It fits well…

That one is too wide. That one is too narrow. That one is too deep. That one is too thin. That one is too expensive.

I spent a fruitless couple of hours trying to find a replacement cooktop for our kitchen. Our existing cooker had a major breakdown and the quote to repair it was almost the same price as a new one. Normally I would choose to replace it completely but there were none available and the sizing of the cut-out in our stone bench-top limited my choices significantly.

The only cooktop I found that would fit was $12,000 which was just ridiculous…it would have to cook, clean and sing ‘show tunes’ to be worth that!

My problem was that the bench-top would be very difficult to cut, and I couldn’t be certain of the outcome; I could actually find myself in a worse position than I already was in.

So the only option was to get all of the parts replaced, pay the over-inflated cost and hopefully be good-to-go for at least a few more years.

Some things in our lives are easily replaced: clothes become worn or out of fashion (or too small); technology gets superseded; cars begin to rattle and shake.   Other things in our lives take more effort: a career change; a relocation to a new town; or a replacement tooth. Still others can never be replaced: a lost heirloom; the death of someone close; or the loss of trust that comes from betrayal.

When we lose something in our lives it leaves a hole – we automatically try to find a replacement to fill it – but it is not always easy and a suitable substitute is not always available.

Men and women where made for ‘relationship’ – relationship with family, friends and with God.

It has been well said that there is “A God-shaped vaccum” inside every heart. The vacuum or space is there because of innocence lost and understanding misplaced. You can try to fill it with all sorts of other possibilities but, like my cooktop, nothing else really fits the bill.

Jesus put it like this “Take my yoke upon you and learn from me – for my yoke fits well and you will find rest for your soul”.

I have found that nothing ‘fills the gap’ in my life better than who I have found in Him.

So if you would like something that ‘fits well’ into the gap in your life, look no further!

Leave a Reply

