Smoky or a fresh fragrance?

I finally gave in and admitted that I was not as tough as I thought I was – the cold had finally won and I was giving in… I rolled the heater out of the corner in which it had been stored for nine months and turned it on.

It did not take long to realise that I had made a small but lasting mistake… within a few moments my office was filling with smoke and the smell of burning filled the air. The error I had made was that I didn’t check whether the heater was safe to turn on and I hadn’t accounted for the build up of dust on the internal elements. My office has been surrounded by a building site for the last nine months and because of this, there has been much more dust than usual.

Over nine months this heater had been completing only one task and that was to sit there and catch as much dust as possible. Before I turned it on I wiped it over with a damp cloth and removed all of the surface dust but I didn’t even stop to think what might be going on within.

The outcome was that I now have a very clean heater inside and out, I just did it in a way that is not recommended. It is not recommended because it could cause a fire and it is not recommended because it will leave your office smelling like someone has been smoking very cheap cigars.

Truth to tell, it wasn’t ever out of hand but it did leave a lingering effect. It reminded me of two truths: Firstly, we need to look inside to know what is really happening and; Secondly, skills and possessions left dormant gather dust and need attention before they can be effective again.

I wondered at what is really going on inside my heart and life that I have ignored or allowed to gather dust, I also wondered at what skills may need some attention before they can be useful once more – I’m like you, I don’t want to be leaving a trail of smoke behind me or a bad smell in the air.

I want my life to be more like the Apostle Paul describes… “Thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place.”   (2 Corinithians 2:14)

Not a dusty old heater blowing smoke but something more useful…

Leave a Reply

