Ineffective doorbell…

I live in a fairly large house and, whilst I am not complaining about that fact in anyway, it did cause a bit of a problem for me last week.

Actually the problem was caused by the failure of a small piece of equipment and the fact that I was listening for the wrong thing.

Our doorbell is one of those that require batteries to work and whilst it is easy to install, it has the basic fault that when the batteries run out it dies. You don’t actually realise that it is not working until you attempt to use it and it does not ring. The problem is that I rarely ring my own doorbell.

The other day I was waiting for a tradesman to come to the house. It was a scheduled meeting and I saw him arrive early and wait in the car. I went about my business inside but the doorbell didn’t ring. 5 minutes, 10 minutes and the doorbell didn’t ring… at this point I walked to the front of the house to check and realised that the tradesman was standing at my front door and he was knocking. I opened the door and he told me that he had knocked at least 4 times and it was at this point that I realised that my doorbell was inoperable and I had been listening for the wrong thing.

If I had not checked out the window the tradesman would have eventually walked away and I would have missed my appointment because I didn’t hear the knocking because I was listening for something else.

So often in our lives we are listening intently for one thing and so we miss what is actually going on. We believe we know what needs to happen and so we fail to recognise when something different comes along.

We make our plans, we ‘map out’ our future, we set goals and we look for certain outcomes…we listen for the doorbell to ring and we are ready to respond. This is all fine and splendid until something different happens – if we are listening for the doorbell alone we can be missing the knock altogether.

Our plans are one thing, what actually is taking place could be something every different.

Maybe we need to listen for something else?

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.”                                    Revelation 3:20

Leave a Reply

