Winter Solstice…

I have noticed a subtle change which has overtaken a few of my close acquaintances in the last few days.

A week ago I had observed that a number people were showing signs of what could only be described as ‘glumness’, but in the last few days that seems to have turned around.

The only explanation I can ‘hang my hat on’ is that the days are finally getting longer. Last week was the winter solstice and we passed that point where the days have reached their shortest point. For a couple of weeks leading up to it, it feels like darkness is rising and the daylight disappears all too quickly. I know for myself I had a couple of days where I went to work in the dark and came home in the dark. It is not a massive thing but it does have an impact on the way you think and on the way you feel. I can only imagine what it is like to live in parts of the world that have to endure months of darkness with no daylight at all.

But with the passing of the solstice come longer days and shorter nights. It is imperceptible at first but soon becomes noticeable. This is what I have observed in my friends and family – just a slight improvement in mood and more of a likelihood to want to get out and do something.

As the days grow longer you see more people out and about, people make efforts to have picnics (even though it is still cold) and they are generally more positive. I think there is a causal link between our attitude and the amount of light we experience.

In Genesis 1 we read the words that Lord spoke “Let there be light”… it is a basic need and a hope generating force. Problems seem worse in the middle of a dark night, fears are larger and obstacles seem more insurmountable – but hope comes with the dawning of a new day and hopefully the light of this morning finds you with enough hope to carry on.

“Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” John 8:12

So my question for you today is this – do you have enough ‘light’ in your life or are you still in the darkened winter?

Perhaps it is time to open your eyes and notice that the season has changed!

Leave a Reply

