Christmas in July

Following the theme of “Christmas in July” I recalled an event that made me stop and think.

A while ago I was driving through the Dural area with a friend at the wheel. We were enjoying the sun and the winding roads when we encountered a ‘stoptomotrist’ holding the power over the flow of traffic due to some road works. As we were stopped for maybe a couple of minutes an interesting series of events caught my eye.

I looked out of the window and perused a Christmas Tree farm right near where we were stopped. As I looked over, I realised that smaller trees were at the front near the road and as the ground rose backwards towards the house the trees became larger. Obviously they had been planted with a view to harvesting them in a few months, ready to adorn people’s houses for Christmas. As my gaze reached the house (about 200m away) I saw the owner of the farm step out of his front door with a cup of coffee in his hand and a contented look on his face as he looked at his Christmas trees growing.

In an instant I felt that I knew two things for certain: Number one was that the owner enjoyed doing this every day and; number two, I wanted his job!

Imagine having a role that was so easily measurable that you could see a result each and every day. I know that my job is nothing like that. It is hard to know sometimes if I am achieving anything at all. Being a parent is certainly not like that – you are not sure if you are achieving what you are hoping for. In fact, for a lot of us, there are aspects of our lives that we are not sure how they are really going.

You can spend your life comparing yourself to others (either positively or negatively) “I am not as good as Jim but I am not as bad as Paul!”

but those comparisons are hollow and flawed in many respects – the only real measure is what is happening to us as people on the inside.

So how do you measure yourself – on the inside where it really counts?

The Bible gives me something to aim at and it might help you to think about it and challenge yourself as well. We should keep reaching for growth each day until…

“we all come to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ;”   Ephesians 4:13

Leave a Reply

